2020 Teams Announced

  • September 17, 2019
USTSA is kicking off the 2019-2020 season with the announcement of the four US Telemark Teams; A-Team, B-Team, Development Team and the Masters Team. Across the four Teams USTSA is supporting 39 athletes for the upcoming season.


The A-Team, or World Cup Team, consists of only the top US Telemark athletes, who are all expected to compete in part of the FIS World Cup series. This year’s Team consists of Jeffery Gay, Sara Godek, Birk Larsen, and Cory Snyder. All four of these athletes are long-time US Team veterans. Gay currently holds four US Telemark Championship titles, Snyder hold three as well as several top ten FIS World Cup finishes. Godek is returning to the FIS circuit having competed at last year’s World Championships in Rjukan as well as both FIS events in the US during the 2017-2018 season. Larsen, who has been competing with USTSA since 2010, also has several World Cups under his belt including last year’s World Championships.


The B-Team, or National Team, is similarly stacked with veteran athletes, with 13 returning B Team members and three athletes – Rachel Keisling, Emma Poper, and Aren Moynihan – moving up from the Development Team. Among the athletes, there are six women and 10 men with nearly 100 years of combined USTSA experience. Top athletes to watch include Finn Dresen, ranked fifth at the 2019 Karbon Championships, and women’s leader Lyta Foulk.


Perhaps the most important Team that we support is our Development Team, for budding athletes under the age of 17, this Team holds the future of US Telemark; Agatha Chan, Isabella Cerasoli, Rebecca Paper, Mia Weglarz, Theodore Chan, Jed Kenerson, and Owen Wood. All of these young athletes have already competed at several US Telemark events, including last year’s US Telemark Karbon National Championships.


Going into its third official season, this year’s US Telemark Masters Team serves to widen our base of Telemark Racing participants and is a place where A and B Team alumni can continue to compete. Among this year’s 12 Master Team athletes we have Tanner Visnick and Jack Rosenthal, both former World Cup racers. Additionally we have Wioleta Fedeczko, Tabi Freedman, Christine Jenson, Stefan Bagnato, Richard Burrow, Jeff Grady, Mark Haberle, Dan Kenerson, Josh Poper, and Keith Radick.


For complete athlete biographies, visit the 2019-2020 Team page.


As we look ahead to the season, we’re excited to announce that we already have several events being put on the calendar, including the US Karbon National Championships, which will be held in New Hampshire. If you would like to support these events and our athletes, please consider purchasing a USTSA membership or donating to USTSA. Holding a membership not only supports our organization, but it gives you the chance to compete at USTSA events and vote on key issues in our community.

Sara Godek at 2019 US Telemark Nationals – Eldora, CO