2010 – 2011 US National Telemark Team Announced

The US Telemark Ski Association (USTSA) is proud to announce the 18 members of the US National Team for the 2010-2011 season.

The women’s “A” Team will be led by 18 year old Lorin Paley of Steamboat Springs, Colorado.  Lorin had a spectacular season last year with 4 podium finishes on the World Cup circuit.  Lorin was accepted to Dartmouth to continue her education, but will be taking a one year deferral in order to train and race the World Cup circuit, which includes the World Championships in Rjukan, Norway in March.  Erika Walters, also of Steamboat Springs will join Lorin on the “A” team and will work to balance the demands of college and of racing.

The men’s “A” Team should be very strong again this next season.  The team will be led by Shane Anderson, the 2008 and 2010 National Champion from Cody, Wyoming and Steamboat Springs.  Shane had his best season last year with two World Cup podiums.  “A” Team veterans Drew Hauser of Silverthorne, Colorado and Charlie Dresen of Steamboat Springs will also be returning to the team.   New to the “A” Team will be Jeffrey Gay of Steamboat Springs and Cory Snyder of Franconia, New Hampshire.  Jeffrey moved up from the “B” team and Cory from the Development Team, both young men had strong finishes in the World Cup and US National Championship races.  These will be two racers to keep an eye on in the 2011 season.

Named to the “B” Team is Madi McKinstry, of Steamboat Springs, whose strong performance last year earned her a move up from the Development team.  Peter McMahon, a veteran racer from Whitefish, Montana will lead the men on the “B” team.  He will be joined by newcomers Jack Long of Riverside, Connecticut and Josh Lanzetta of New Durham, New Hampshire.

The Development Team, for racers ages 17 and younger, includes returning members Zoë Taylor and Elizabeth Klemer.  New this season is Annecy Hillmuth, Katie Ross, Rick Walters and Tanner Visnick – all of Steamboat Springs and Nick Resignolo of Breckenridge, Colorado.

Members of the US National team raise their own funds to travel and compete.  Many of them train on their own without a coach.  Those fortunate enough to live in Steamboat Springs are able to train with the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, which has the only formal Telemark racing program in the United States.   “USTSA is fielding one of the strongest teams we’ve had in recent years.  With the quality and experience of our veteran racers and the tremendous development I expect out of our younger racers,  I am excited to see the results this coming season”, said Russ Hobbs, President of USTSA.

A Team
Shane Anderson, 31, Cody, WY and Steamboat Springs, CO
Charlie Dresen, 47, Steamboat Springs, CO
Jeffrey Gay, 17, Steamboat Springs, CO
Drew Hauser, 21, Silverthorne, CO
Lorin Paley, 18, Steamboat Springs, CO
Cory Snyder, 18, Franconia, NH
Erika Walters, 18, Steamboat Springs, CO

B Team
Josh Lanzetta, 32, New Durham, NH
Jack Long, 17, Riverside, CT
Madi McKinstry, 16, Steamboat Springs, CO
Peter McMahon, 40, Whitefish, MT

Development Team
Annecy Hillmuth, 14, Steamboat Springs, CO
Elizabeth Klemer, 16, Steamboat Springs, CO
Nick Resignolo, 16, Breckenridge, CO
Katie Ross, 17, Steamboat Springs, CO
Zöe Taylor, 15, Atlanta, GA and Steamboat Springs, CO
Tanner Visnick, 14, Steamboat Springs, CO
Rick Walters, 15, Steamboat Springs, CO