US National Telemark Team Named for 08-09 Season

The United States Telemark Ski Association has announced the list of athletes for the 2008-2009 National Team.  Leading the group of “A” team racers are two of the youngest members, Brett Stein (18) from Wayland, MA and Drew Hauser (19), from Silverthorne, CO.  The two teens are currently ranked 13th and 16th, respectively,  in the overall World Cup standings.  Joining them are Shane Anderson of Cody, WY, who had several top ten World Cup results last year and Eric Lamb of Whitefish, MT.  They also rank in the top twenty in the world with Shane in 15th and Eric at 18th place.  Veteran racer Peter McMahon of Whitefish rounds out the men’s squad.

Kelsey Schmid-Sommer, also of Whitefish and Lorin Paley of Steamboat Springs are the women’s representatives on the “A” squad.  Schmid-Sommer just missed the podium in all four races last year at the World Cup finals and finished the season in 5th place overall in the World Cup Standings.

The “B” team consists of David Hobbs of Whitefish, and Ken Recker, Ben Paley and Wiley Thayer, all of Steamboat Springs.  The women’s “B” team includes Erika Walters of Steamboat Springs, Jeannine Poucel from Seattle, WA and Suzanne Pattinson of Sandpoint, ID.

Named to the Development Team for 2008/2009 are Max Shefte-Jacobs of Golden, CO and Cory Snyder of  Franconia, NH.

The World Championships will take place in Kreischberg, Austria starting January 22, 2009.