US Telemark Timeline

ustsa-logo-shield_navy-reduced-for-websiteTelemark ski racing has a rich history in the US.  In an effort to document this history, USTSA has contacted many previous team members and poured over old file folders of news clippings to put together this information.  We have tried to capture the names of the National Champions for each year, but are still missing a few.  We have the list of team members for most years, but not all, and we are gathering a fun collection of photos and news clippings from over the years. This history project is a work in progress.  In fact, we have only published the detailed timeline for 1980-1999 at this time.

Continued work on the Timeline

The remaining years will be coming soon.  We hope that if you were involved in the sport of Telemark racing or the USTSA Free Skiing series and have information, photos, or newsclippings that are not included here or you find an error in this information that you will send us an email. A great big THANK YOU to those of you who have already contributed to this project.

History Links

  • January 20, 2017

    2001 - 2002

    National Champions:  Chris Rice or Quinn Lewis  and _________________ Crested Butte, CO  (We have no records from this event) This event was part of the second annual Crested Butte Telemark Festival, once a rite of spring at the ...more
  • November 12, 2015

    2010 - 2019 Highlights

    The US hosted the World Championships and the Junior World Championships in Steamboat Spring in 2015.  This was only the second time the US has hosted this prestigious event; the first was in 2003 at Big Mountain in Whitefish, Montana...more
  • June 1, 2009

    2000 - 2009 Highlights

    This first decade of the new Millennium got off to a great start for the US Telemark Community. US Team member Reid Sabin of Whitefish, MT became the World Champion based on overall points in both 2000 and 2001. He also raced to a ...more
  • December 31, 1999

    1990 - 1999 Highlights

    USTSA was incorporated in Utah in December of 1993 and received 501(c)3 status in 1994.  The Trustees of the new organization were Charlie Hassard, Ellen Guthrie and Beth Campbell (Long).  Three additional directors were named in ...more
  • June 1, 1999

    1998 - 1999

      National Champions: Chris Rice & Cody Thompson National Championships: Stevens Pass, WA See News Article - Nationals See related news article - Cody Thompson   World Championships – Stöten, Sweden ...more
  • June 1, 1998

    1997 - 1998

      National Champions: Chris Rice & Cody Thompson National Championships: Big Mountain, Whitefish, MT Men's Expert Results See Related News Article   Cody Thompson (McCarthy) of Whitefish, MT won the women's National ...more
  • June 1, 1997

    1996 - 1997

      National Champions: Chris Rice & Heather Paul National Championships:  Haystack Mountain, VT Partial Results 1997 Points List   World Championships Meiringen, Switzerland Results   The US hosted a ...more
  • June 1, 1996

    1995 - 1996

      National Champions:  Chris Rice & Heather Paul National Championships: Tahoe (Alpine Meadows, Squaw Valley, Ski Homewood) National Championships were held in Conjunction with a World Cup event and the Tahoe Telemark ...more
  • June 1, 1995

    1994 - 1995

      National Champions:  Chris Rice & Jennifer Borzilleri National Championships: Sunday River, MA A World Cup event was held in conjunction with the US National Championships in Sunday River Nationals and World Cup Results ...more
  • June 1, 1994

    1993 - 1994

      National Champions: Patrick Ledger & Jennifer Borzilleri National Championships: Grand Targhee/Jackson Hole See Results   May 1994 – USTSA IRS, Non Profit, 501(c)3 Status approved US Team Members Carolyn ...more


Load More Posts